MUSICAL JOURNEY (A) - ITALY: A Musical Tour of the Southern Tyrol


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

The Places

The Southern Tyrol was in earlier times part of the Habsburg Empire, governed from Vienna, and ceded to Italy in 1919. The region remains largely German-speaking and enjoys a considerable degree of autonomy. Of particular interest are the rock formations of the Dolomites and the many castles and fortified houses of the province. The tour shows two historic buildings, Schloss Velthurns and Schloss Runkelstein.

The Music

Music for the tour is by Mozart, born in Salzburg in 1756. With his father, Leopold Mozart, Vice-Kapellmeister in Salzburg, he made three notable visits to Italy, and on various occasions he broke his journey at Bozen (Bolzano) and visited Brixen (Bressanone). The music heard here is the "Posthorn" Serenade, written in Salzburg in 1779, and the Notturno, another serenade, written there in the winter of 1776–77.

Part 1

Select language: