UNESCO CONCERT FOR PEACE (THE) - STRAUSS, R. / PANUFNIK, R. / MAHLER, G. (World Orchestra for Peace, Gergiev)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Strauss, Richard - Composer
Mahler, Gustav - Composer

Venue: Royal Albert Hall, London
Playing Time: 02:31:22
Television Director: Kaye, Charles
Television Director: Woodward, Matthew
Catalogue Number: 730108
UPC: 814337013011

In 2014 the World Orchestra for Peace returned with its conductor Valery Gergiev for their fourth appearance at the BBC Proms, to play a special concert marking the centennial of the outbreak of World War I. The concert also celebrated the 150th anniversary of Richard Strauss's birth with the colourful, fairy-tale soundscapes of the Fantasia from his operatic masterpiece Die Frau ohne Schatten, Roxanna Panufnik's Three Paths to Peace, commissioned by the orchestra and Mahler's Sixth Symphony. The World Orchestra for Peace, founded in 1995 by Sir Georg Solti to reaffirm, in his words, "the unique strength of music as an ambassador for peace" is a classical supergroup made up of leading players from the world's finest orchestras. The concert is introduced by an illuminating documentary with Solti and Gergiev, marking the orchestra's 20th anniversary.

Part 1

Part 2

Select language: