MASTERCLASS WITH MIRIAM FRIED - PROKOFIEV, S.: Violin Concerto, No. 1, Op. 19: III. Moderato (violin and piano reduction)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Violin Concerto No. 1 in D Major, Op. 19

Lecturer/Violin: Fried, Miriam

Year of Production: Jan. 2012
Playing Time: 00:45:26
Catalogue Number: RSS10172_1

This movement is inspired in the "pas de deux" (ballet), so it should have a less "angular" and more "rounded" articulation and a metric in two bars. The peculiar dotted rhythm of this piece establishes its character. In addition, the professor talks about legato issues, bow speed, weight and bow placing. To finish, Miriam Fried advices the student to pay attention to her own attitude and emotion so that she does not look so mechanical and she gets the required musical mood.

Part 1

Select language: