MASTERCLASS WITH MENAHEM PRESSLER - FRANCK, C.: Piano Quintet, M. 7: I. Molto moderato quasi lento


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Year of Production: May 2018
Playing Time: 00:56:03
Catalogue Number: RSS15562_1

Introduction by Professor Pressler, who has played several works by Cesar Franck but never this one. He then makes some corrections on phrasing and dynamics - such as the beginning of violin I part, the piano part, etc. The students have to be aware of the melodic lines and of issues concerning the balance of the sound among the five instruments.

Professor Pressler explains a rhythmic motif in a certain passage of the piano part. He asks the ensemble to identify all the voices and explains some issues regarding the agogics (accelerandi, ritardandi), the pulse and the anacrusis.

With respect to the phrasing, he remarks the notes that should be emphasized in the phrase due to their melodic relevance.

Part 1

Select language: