MASTERCLASS WITH DAVID GERINGAS - BRAHMS, J.: Cello Sonata No. 1: I. Allegro non troppo


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Brahms, Johannes - Composer
Cello Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 38

Lecturer/Cello: Geringas, David

Year of Production: Feb. 2011
Playing Time: 00:57:45
Catalogue Number: RSS8027_1

At the beginning, Professor Geringas explains general aspects such as tempo, agogics and character in relation to Brahms Cello Sonata No. 1. The student has to choose the right tempo for the whole movement selecting it from a different place that the introduction. Later they works on articulation, dynamics, sound, structure and climax in relation to the expression, rhythm and phrasing.

Professor Geringas focuses on the sound balance with the piano, the rapport and dialogue among parts, both instruments playing as an exchange. He also comments some aspects related to the bow and how to get the highest intensity.

Part 1

Select language: