MASTERCLASS WITH DAVID GERINGAS - BEETHOVEN, L. van: Cello Sonata, Op. 5, No. 2: I. Adagio sostenuto ed espressivo - II. Allegro molto


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Cello Sonata No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 5, No. 2

Lecturer/Cello: Geringas, David

Year of Production: Feb. 2011
Playing Time: 01:00:26
Catalogue Number: RSS8042_1

First of all, Professor Geringas corrects the tempo and he suggests the student to play sostenuto from the beginning of the piece.

Then they work on dynamic levels related to the corresponding character. Prof. David Geringas also makes some indications about harmony, rhythm, piano and cello rapport and articulation among other issues. Then they discuss about the different editions and their relevance. Afterwards they review the end of the Adagio and the measure to go into the Allegro molto part.

About this second part, David Geringas makes some comments on different execution aspects such as the rhythm and agogics, the character, the quality and clarity of the sound as well as about phrasing, dynamics, attitude in the performance, dialog with the piano, harmony and contrast, etc.

The masterclass ends with some indications about sforzato/forte piano, shoulder relaxation, bowings, and quality of sound in the fortissimo moments.

Part 1

Select language: