MASTERCLASS WITH KOLJA BLACHER - BRAHMS, J.: Violin Concerto, Op. 77: I. Allegro non troppo (violin and piano reduction)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Brahms, Johannes - Composer
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77

Lecturer/Violin: Blacher, Kolja

Year of Production: May 2006
Playing Time: 00:38:45
Catalogue Number: RSS8358_1

At the beginning of the masterclass, Professor Blacher advises the student to pay attention to the form and thematic material of the composition: first part looks like an improvisation, so it should be played with more freedom in metrics. There is a sequence: syncopation requires more tension, and triplets should be played accelerando to the climax.

Kolja Blacher also recommends paying more attention to the harmony, because dynamics and color depends on these aspects. Afterwards, Prof. Blacher corrects the student some issues about agogics and tempo, rhythm and hemiola, character and melodic line. It is very important to consider the orchestral part so that the performance has musical sense. Besides, the student should emphasize the main melody.

Blacher also explains the meaning of rubato, among other questions. To conclude, the professor advises the student to analyze the score - not just her violin part - to get a more exciting performance.

Part 1

Select language: