MASTERCLASS WITH PAMELA FRANK - TCHAIKOVSKY, P.I.: Violin Concerto, Op. 35: I. Allegro moderato - Moderato assai (violin and piano reduction)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35

Lecturer/Violin: Frank, Pamela

Year of Production: May 2011
Playing Time: 00:39:19
Catalogue Number: RSS9061_1

Professor Pamela Frank starts with a brief consideration about the risk of being too much influenced by the recordings, in the case of such well-known pieces as this one. She then compares the works by this composer with those by Mozart (Tchaikovsky's favourite composer). The structure is comprised of long movements and Professor Frank also talks about the orchestration in this composition.

Later on, they work on several issues, such as sound spaces, vibrato, agogics, harmony, phrasing, syncopation and rhythm, character, and rapport with the piano.

Part 1

Select language: