MASTERCLASS WITH BRUNO CANINO - SCHUMANN, R.: Piano Quartet, Op. 47: I. Sostenuto assai - Allegro ma non troppo


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Lecturer: Canino, Bruno

Year of Production: Dec. 2006
Playing Time: 00:46:44
Catalogue Number: RSS9358_1

Professor Canino explains that the tempo is in 4 and that the changes of character go from serious to agitato and the tempo is associated to each character.

He corrects many aspects of the piano technique, as articulation - staccato or legato -, expressiveness, and pedal. He insists on the chord balance.

Regarding the violin, the student has to pay attention to the dynamics, fingerings, and bowings.

The beginning of the piece in Allegro must be very energetic.
Professor Canino follows the masterclass with some corrections to the piano part again: arpeggiato chords, balanced articulation, dynamics and character. He also explains how to make a good crescendo, different articulations and flexibility within a tempo, among other issues.

Part 1

Select language: