MASTERCLASS WITH ZAKHAR BRON - BRAHMS, J.: Violin Concerto, Op. 77: II. Adagio (violin and piano reduction)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Brahms, Johannes - Composer
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77

Lecturer/Violin: Bron, Zakhar

Year of Production: Jan. 2007
Playing Time: 00:41:44
Catalogue Number: RSS9806_1

Professor Zakhar Bron starts the masterclass with a comment about the expressiveness: the student should show deeper feelings. Then, he makes some corrections about fingering related to the violin positions, and also about tempo and phrasing in certain passages.

About the sound, the professor recommends more clarity (legato, but not with much vibrato or glissando). Besides, Bron makes some indications on bow distribution regarding the required dynamics. After some suggestions to improve the character of the work, Bron recommends a freer phrasing. He proposes different fingerings and he highlights character and expressiveness issues. There is a dialog with the horn that the student should take into account and play it with less vibrato.

Moreover, Zakhar Bron makes some corrections about phrasing, tuning, articulation, or dynamics among others. Finally, the professor plays certain passages to show the student how to express properly some character and harmonic changes.

Part 1

Select language: